Jill Stein wins the Green Party’s presidential nomination


Updated: Jill Stein officially won the Green Party’s presidential nomination today at the party’s national convention in Houston, Texas by a landslide. Stein briefly appeared with her VP choice, Ajamu Baraka, on the stage, but the final result was not listed on the screen. This editor compiled a state by state breakdown of the roll call vote and it can be found here.

Five candidates besides Stein received votes: Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza-Curry, William Kreml, Darryl Cherney, Kent Mesplay and Elijah Manley (who, at 16 years old, is constitutionally ineligible to hold the office of President of the United States). The rough results below (may not be 100% accurate due to my uncertainty over the precise Texas numbers):

Stein 233.5 81.64%
Kreml 18.25 6.38%
Moyowasifza-Curry 14.5 5.07%
Cherney 8.5 2.97%
Mesplay 7.5 2.62%
Manley 3.25 1.14%
“No candidate” 0.5 0.17%

Special thanks to Darryl W. Perry for tallying the roll call votes I recorded.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s